Last Minute Pork

I bought some pork tenderloin this past weekend, but I didn’t really have a plan for it. Generally I think it benefits from at least a few hours of marinating – but tonight, George called on his way home and chose pork over chicken, so I did a quick search and landed on this Herb Roasted Pork Tenderloin from Pioneer Woman.

First things first – I cooked mine for probably 8 to 10 minutes longer than she suggested, and it still barely reached the “new” approved pork temp of 145. Don’t plan for this to be done in 12 to 15 minutes as she suggests, unless you like your pork really rare. In her case, she’s probably cooking pigs off her own farm so she doesn’t have to worry about where they came from or their quality. But I can’t say the same from the pork-in-a-bag from the HT. So I’m going to cook it to 145. Actually, next time, I’m going to cook it a little longer, since while we both like our pork pink, this was pinker than the hubs would have liked.

That said, though, we both really liked the herb crust. The sauce was good too – I changed that up as well. I made mine with orange marmalade b/c that’s what I had, but I also changed the ratio around a little. Originally, I did equal water and preserves like the recipe called for, but even after a good long simmer, the sauce was still thinner than I wanted. So I added more marmalade. I also added soy sauce to cut the sweetness a little, and used white balsamic vinegar rather than plain white vinegar – just b/c I had the white balsamic and I can’t use it to clean like I can the plain white vinegar.

What I loved about this is that it was EASY to prepare the tenderloin, the sauce requires very few ingredients, and it all came together quickly. I will definitely make this again, but I’ll give the pork a little longer in the oven before letting it rest.  

Leave a Reply

