It worked

The cooking experiment and blog started off strong, with the plan to try at least a new recipe a week – but it pretty quickly slowed to 1 to 2 new recipes a month.  And initially, when I looked back to my trials in 2013, I felt like I hadn’t really conquered as many recipes as I hoped (my To Try list is still very long!) and hadn’t added enough staples to my list.

But tonight, I’m eating homemade tomato soup with grilled cheese on french bread I baked myself, and a spinach salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette. I made the soup after a pretty crappy work day, start to finish while answering work emails and helping my kiddo make “basil soup” in the kitchen next to me. And I was sitting down to eat by 7:30. Not too shabby.

So in the end, I feel like the experiment paid off.  Not because I have a whole host of recipes we want to eat again and again – but because I dared to try new things – and on weeknights, no less! While I aimed a little higher than maybe I should have, the end result is pretty satisfying.

Leave a Reply

