Winter Warmer

Today was a warm day in Alexandria. Yesterday was gray and gloomy pretty much all day, so today, it was nice to be able to get outside. Our yard looked very unloved, so we spent several hours raking and mowing, and now 1 part of the yard looks presentable (3 more to go – and no time until next weekend). I even took Charlie to the park for a bit to run and play, which he loved. I had planned on trying a new pasta recipe tonight, but after all that activity, I wanted something easier/less hands-on than the recipe I was ready to try.

Tomato soup and grilled cheese is probably better suited for colder weather, but I had picked up some San Marzano tomatoes when I was at the store earlier and a new cheese (taleggio) that the guy at the cheese counter said was fabulous grilled. So the decision was made.

I’m not always a huge fan of tomato soup. I love gazpacho, but I generally feel like tomato soup has too much acid and not enough depth of flavor. But this Classic Tomato Soup recipe delivered. The onion, garlic, chicken broth, and thyme (my sprigs were small, so I put in 2) gave it more flavor than I generally associate with tomato soup.  And the taleggio cheese on Trader Joes Tuscan Pan was great for dipping. Can’t wait to make this again when it’s actually cold out!

Leave a Reply

