Honey Chai Roasted Almonds

I bought some raw almonds the other day at the store – and that was literally ALL I had to buy to make Honey Chai Roasted Almonds. (I cheated and used nutmeg out of a spice jar instead of grating it fresh.) I really like spiced chai lattes, and I love almonds, so when I found this recipe, I figured I had to try it.

I had a baptism and first birthday party of a good friend’s child to attend mid-day, so I figured it would be a good time to try this recipe and take some to the party to share. It was super-fast – 18 minutes in the oven total, and easy to mix all the spices together while the almonds roasted. And the spices baking in the oven made my kitchen smell wonderful.

Verdict: I love the spice mixture. It is wonderfully fragrant and made me think of Christmas. I think I may make more just to keep handy, as I think I’d like it stirred into some coffee, apple cider or black tea, or even mixed into some vanilla yogurt.

And the almonds were good. I thought 3 tablespoons of honey seemed like a lot, but after baking, they really weren’t very sweet. I might even drizzle a little more over them next time. My friend was appreciative of having a snack to add to the  table, and they seemed to be enjoyed by the guests. I’m thinking they might make a good addition to the list of homemade Christmas goodies that go to teachers, therapists, and co-workers each year, especially if packaged in a pretty jar or bag.

I definitely plan to make these again!

Leave a Reply

