Carnitas

We love tacos at Casa Griffin – but we make run-of-the-mill, ground turkey tacos. Tomato sauce, chili powder, cumin, coriander, onion, oil, and turkey (if you’re still using those taco seasoning packets, STOP! They’re full of salt and you only need a few spices to make perfect tacos) and this family is happy.

But I’ve realized that when we eat tacos out, I almost always get carnitas. I love the tender, shredded pork with most anything mixed in. There’s a gas station near our Maryland office that does a spicy carnitas with little bits of pineapple in it – yum!  But I also like tacos filled with a more traditional version. So when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it.

We didn’t eat until about 9:30. The downside of this recipe is that it should be in the oven for about 2 hours, and there is a little (very little) prep before you can put it into the oven – and then there’s some more cooking after. So it’s not a great weeknight recipe, as I almost never get home before 6 p.m.  But the actual work involved is minimal, and most of the ingredients are stuff we generally have on hand.

George and I both thought this was a really nice change from our normal taco routine. I served these with shredded cheese, chunks of avocado, black beans, and sour cream – all good toppings, but next time I think I’ll do a little more. This would make a great weekend recipe with some homemade salsa and guacamole, lime slices, and maybe some crumbled queso fresco.

End result: success – we’re already talking about eating the leftovers later in the week!

3 thoughts on “Carnitas

  1. I admit I still use the taco seasoning packets (but at least they are low sodium)!! Any advice on how much to use of the seasonings you listed? Thank you!!

  2. Hey Molly – we used them for a VERY long time and loved them – until we tried homemade, and we both realized we weren’t so thirsty after. I do 1 T of chili powder (Mexican style if I can find it, because it’s spicier), 2 t of cumin, and 2 t of coriander. Mix and cook or a minute, and then I pour in one of those small cans of tomato sauce (about 1 cup). I simmer it on low for about 10 minutes – and done. The recipe calls for a little salt too, but since we always top our tacos with cheese and often have them with tortilla chips on the side, I omit the salt from the recipe.
    Hope you like them!

Leave a Reply

