Buttermilk Biscuits Free Today

Today’s new recipe was for buttermilk biscuits. I can’t help it, every time I think about/hear about buttermilk biscuits, I hear the Sir-Mix-A-Lot song in my head, hence the title of my post. I don’t make biscuits very often, but usually if I do, it’s a last minute decision and involves the recipe on the side panel of the Bisquick box. And while there isn’t anything wrong with last minute Bisquick biscuits, I would like to have something a bit more impressive in my repertoire. So when I saw this recipe on Smitten Kitchen, one of my favorite cooking blogs, I thought I should give it a try.  And this weekend, I just happened to have leftover buttermilk in the fridge and Nana visiting from Philly. So buttermilk biscuits were on this morning’s menu.

What I loved about them:  quick, easy, flaky and crisp. Yum

What I realized: I need a pastry blender.  I didn’t cut the butter into small enough chunks and as a result, my biscuits weren’t as smooth and even looking as the photos on Smitten Kitchen. Mine also didn’t rise quite as much as hers, but I think my baking powder might have been a bit old.

Either way, everyone ate them and no one complained!  In the ever poetic words of Sir-Mix-A-Lot:

Don’t make a difference what food you make
Use buttermilk biscuits to clean your plate.

Leave a Reply

