Garlic and Rosemary Roasted Chicken

My good friend Molly asked about the garlic chicken recipe, so I decided to post it too. While it’s not new to me, it’s very worthy of sharing!

Ingredients:

1 3 to 4 lb chicken

1 large head of garlic, cloves separated but not peeled

4 bay leaves

1 1/2 teaspoons crumbled dried rosemary

1/4 cup olive oil

small red potatoes (as many as you’ll need/will fit in your pan around your chicken)

Preheat oven to 375. Sprinkle chicken and cavity with salt and pepper. Halve two garlic cloves, and place inside cavity with 2 bay leaves. Rub rosemary into skin of chicken.

If not using the really baby potatoes, halve or quarter the potatoes – they don’t need to be bite size, but I make them 2-bite size at most.

Heat olive oil in an oven proof skillet (I use a cast iron one with great success) over high heat (I generally keep it at med-high rather than all the way, but our burners burn pretty hot). Put garlic into oil, stir for 30 seconds.

Add chicken, potatoes and other 2 bay leaves to pan. Season potatoes with salt and pepper (I actually skip this – I think they’re plenty flavorful w/o the additional salt). Brown chicken on all sides on stove top.

Put pan into oven, and cook until juices run clear.  In my oven, this generally takes about an hour, even with a 4 pound chicken – but I’m a bit paranoid about chicken, so I always double-check it with my meat thermometer.

Let chicken stand for 10 minutes while juices settle.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Garlic and Rosemary Roasted Chicken

Leave a Reply

