Cheating

So I said I was going to try a new recipe each week, and post about them. I certainly haven’t kept to the 1 recipe a week thing, but I’ve been remaking some of the things I posted about, which is a good sign!

Tonight, I’m making my mom’s tried and true Garlic Roasted Chicken recipe.  It is one of my favorites, because you cook the chicken and potatoes in a single pan, which means while the chicken roasts, I just have to toss a salad and warm some bread, and we have dinner. And to answer the question, “Is bread really necessary when you’re already having potatoes?”, I will say YES, with this recipe bread is mandatory, because you have to have something to spread your roasted cloves of garlic on. YUM.

Anyway, usually I just serve a green salad with it with my mom’s grandmother’s dressing or a quick tossed together oil and vinegar (anything is better than salad dressing out of a bottle, in my opinion), but a few months ago, I found 2 things that have turned me into a salad LOVER.  I like salads a lot when all of the ingredients are super fresh and interesting (add some blue cheese and/or nuts and/or crunchy raw veggies and I’m a fan) – but the problem with buying lettuce is that it just doesn’t stay fresh very long in my fridge. And once it’s even slightly dark on the edges or limp, I have no use for it. I just can’t get excited about a salad with wilted greens (unless they’re wilted under some warm bacon dressing, of course!).

But not too long ago, one of the food blogs I read mentioned broccoli slaw.  I wasn’t familiar with broccoli slaw, but the recipe was for an asian salad, and since I generally love asian flavors and it said it was an easy thing to toss together, I decided to give it a try. Well, since then, I am rarely without a bag of broccoli slaw in my crisper. Little shoestrings of carrots, broccoli, and red cabbage – healthy as can be, and CRUNCHY.  I like to add some combination of chow mein noodles, toasted almonds, fresh mint or basil (whatever I have in the garden at the time), and/or toasted sesame seeds. And what this post is all about, really, is this “recipe” I found for Asian Peanut Dressing. I use the term “recipe” loosely, because I don’t measure any of the ingredients and they vary depending on what I have on hand. But no matter what the combination, it is always SO good!  One thing I always do is add a little more canola oil after I mix all the other ingredients together – because while I love the flavor of sesame oil, I don’t like to use too much of it. And the recipe doesn’t really make enough to save if I don’t add a little more oil at the end. It makes the dressing a bit thinner than maybe intended, but I don’t mind a thin dressing, especially when that means I can get a few more servings out of it. I usually use maple syrup as my sweetener since I figure it’s a little healthier than white sugar, and adds another interesting flavor to the mix.

So there it is – my cheater post about a recipe I stumbled upon before I started this blog. I just didn’t think it would be fair to keep such a good thing under wraps. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Cheating

  1. Marie, I just saw something on Good Eats which was fascinating. To crisp up wilted lettuces, put the lettuce in water and add white vinegar to the water. It crisps the lettuce!

    Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

