Recipe Fail

Last night, I cooked my first total failure of my self-imposed recipe challenge. I decided to try chicken pozole, a recipe I found here: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/chicken_pozole/  I thought with the cold weather, it would be nice to have some warm soup. I like hominy, and I like the idea of making a soup that can be enhanced with all sorts of different toppings.

What I don’t like, apparently, is an excess of oregano. I should have paid more attention to the fact that the recipe called for 1 OR 2 TBSP of oregano – somehow, I just read two. I thought to myself that 2 T sounded like a lot, but it was a big pot of soup… Next time, I will a) trust my instincts, and b) read the recipe more closely. The soup tastes almost soapy. Bleh.

Luckily the chicken is kept out of the broth until ready to serve, so most of the chicken didn’t end up in the soup, and I can make chicken salad and/or quesadillas this week with some of it. But unfortunately, after several HOURS of cooking, I am the only one that had a bowl of the soup – after which, I suggested that my husband skip it altogether.  Oh well – this experiment is bound to result in some failures along the way!

Leave a Reply

