Asian Non-Take Out

We have yet to find an Asian restaurant in Alexandria that we really love as much as we loved our go-tos in the city. And I have yet to learn to make Asian food that tastes like it comes from a restaurant. But I try, try, and try again. I can’t tell you how many fried rice recipes I’ve tried that are okay, even good – but not great.

Tonight I decided to go a different direction, noodles. I found a recipe for Thai Peanut Noodles on Our Best Bites.

Yum. The sauce is delicious, as I would have expected. It’s made of garlic, ginger, peanut butter, honey, soy sauce, sriracha (one of my new favorite ingredients), and chicken broth. You know what is great about those ingredients?  With the exception of fresh ginger, I ALWAYS have all of them in house. So when I get a craving for Thai Peanut Noodles, I’ll need to pick up ginger, udon noodles, green onions, cilantro and limes (which I often have as well). Only 5 ingredients – can’t beat that!

It’s snowy and really cold here, but the sriracha in this recipe definitely warmed me up. And this was quick and easy to prepare. Grating ginger was the only labor-intensive part, if you can call it that. The Udon only needed to cook for 4 minutes – I barely got the sauce finished before it was time to drain and serve. Anything that can go from start to finish in less than 15 minutes is a hit in my book!

So here’s the rub – Charlie apparently ate two lunches today, and is not eating dinner, save a few orange slices, healthy boy. Since I made the noodles spicier than I intended, it’s not a terrible thing – but I would have liked him to taste them. He may not be game, but it’s worth a try. AND my husband is stuck at work later than usual, and also has yet to try this dish. If he gives them the thumbs down, they may not become part of our regular rotation. But at the moment, I have high hopes!

Make again?  Yes, even if only just for me.

Recipe variation? I forgot until I’d already made the sauce that I had no cilantro in the house. So this version was not as green and pretty as the picture on the Our Best Bites site. Next time, I’ll make sure to include a handful of cilantro, which I love – and I know I’ll enjoy it even more.

UPDATE:

Husband is also a fan!  Thai Peanut Noodles are a success!  I cooked him some fresh noodles so he wouldn’t have to eat the leftover ones that had gotten cold – and he ate those and then asked for the cold noodles as well. Hooray for the addition of a new easy, interesting meal we both enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Asian Non-Take Out

  1. Oooh! Sounds delicious. I’m going to try this one too. My two cents … I would recommend always having ginger in the house! I just wrap it in tin foil and keep it in the freezer forever. You don’t have to thaw it or anything … just grate it like you normally would. It IS a little bit hard to break off the size piece you need, but not impossible. And I bet you could break it into 1 inch hunks and then freeze it like that for easier use. Anyway, I use it in lots of things (dressings, especially) and it just makes things so much more interesting and fresh tasting! It’s a useful thing to just always have on hand!

    • I LOVE this idea. I do love fresh ginger – I regularly make an asian salad dressing that calls for it, but I often just use a pinch of dried instead since that’s what I have around. I hadn’t even thought of freezing it! But I love the flavor and you’re right, I would probably use it more often if I had it around. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

